Board of Directors

The Medical Alumni Association’s Board of Directors consists of one lifetime member from each medical school class, one lifetime member elected to represent each decade that the medical center has provided postgraduate training and one faculty representative elected by non-alumni faculty members.

An executive committee serves to provide board leadership.

In addition to the executive committee, primary decisions of the board are also driven by three committees that concentrate on specific areas of focus:

  • Awards Committee:
    Reviews nominations and selects recipients for the Medical Alumni Association’s Distinguished Alumni Award, Distinguished Young Alumni Award, Commonwealth Award and Honorary Alumni Award.
  • Wilson Grant Committee:
    Reviews proposals to and selects recipients of Emery A. Wilson Academic Enrichment Program grants.
  • Membership Committee:
    Reviews annual membership trends and establishes recommendations for changes to membership solicitation methods.

2014 - 2016 Executive Committee

President    J.K. Phillips, M.D. '74
President-Elect Julie Atkinson Smith, M.D. '05
Treasurer David Nunley, M.D. '89R
Immediate Past-President Bill Mitchell, M.D. '70

2014 - 2016 Board of Directors UK Medical Alumni Assocation.pdf